Home Board of Directors

Executive Board Members

eduardoPresident, Eduardo "Eddie" Pereira joined FACDL and the Miami Dade Public Defender's Office in 2005. Beginning his service with FACDL as a Young Lawyer Board of Directors member in 2009, Eddie grew up on Key Biscayne and attended Coral Gables Senior High School, thereafter graduating from the A.B. Freeman School of Business at Tulane University and the University of Miami School of Law. Currently, he continues to defend individuals in private practice, handling cases ranging from complex financial schemes to large scale drug trafficking cases to homicides and other violent crimes. Mr. Pereira is a partner in the law firm of Arias and Pereira, PLLC.
Margot MossVice President, Margot Moss is a member of FACDL and FACDL-Miami. She also practices as a partner at Markus & Markus, PLLC in Miami, Florida with David O. Markus, Mona Markus, and Robin Kaplan. An experienced trial attorney, Margot concentrates her practice on white collar criminal defense in state and federal courts. Prior to joining Markus & Markus, Margot was a partner at Fowler White Burnett, P.A. in their White-Collar Criminal Department; and previously worked for over ten years at the Miami-Dade Public Defender’s Office where she tried over 100 cases and was responsible for teaching trial techniques to junior attorneys. She has authored four articles on various criminal topics, lectured on multiple criminal issues, and taught as a faculty member at the Gerald T. Bennett Prosecutor/Public Defender Trial Training Program in Gainesville, Florida. Margot’s other professional involvement includes the Board of Directors of Legal Services of Greater Miami, Inc.; former Vice President, Treasurer, and Director at Large for the Asian Pacific American Bar Association of South Florida; and Member of the Criminal Courts Committee for the Dade County Bar Association. She has contributed to her community by handling multiple pro bono cases for the Ensuring Equal Justice Initiative (as a Special Assistant Public Defender) and Lawyers for Children America. Margot graduated, cum laude, from the Temple University School of Law in 1996 where she served as Executive Editor of the Temple Political & Civil Rights Law Review. She is a member of the Florida and North Carolina Bars.
TERESA ENRIQUEZTreasurer, Teresa Enriquez received her Juris Doctor Degree in May 1995 from University of Miami School of Law, where she was active on Moot Court Board. She received her Bachelor of Arts in English and graduated Phi Beta Kappa from Florida State University in May 1992. She has served as an Assistant Public Defender in Miami from 1995-present. She is currently the Chief Assistant for the County Court Division of the Office, where she enjoys working with and training the most promising, talented young attorneys in the nation. In her more than 17 years as an Assistant Public Defender, Ms. Enriquez has tried countless criminal cases to verdict by jury. She has tirelessly defended clients charged with offenses across the spectrum of Florida’s penal code, from relatively minor second degree misdemeanor offenses to capital felonies. In 2011, the Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Miami Chapter, awarded The Rodney Thaxton “Against All Odds” Award to her for her work on the defense team of the highly-publicized and very unpopular Baby Lollipops case. The Greater Miami Chapter of the American Civil Liberties Union awarded her the C. Clyde Atkins Civil Liberties Award for her work on behalf of those facing the death penalty in Miami-Dade County. Ms. Enriquez served a three year term on a Grievance Committee with The Florida Bar. She is currently on the Board of Directors of Legal Services of Greater Miami, Inc., Do The Right Thing of Miami, Inc. and Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers. When not at work, she co-parents her four young children with the love of her life, Michael.

Board of Directors

Last Name First Name Middle Name
Abreu Milena  
Acosta Madeline  
Alexis Marjorie  
Arias Maggie  
Catalano Michael  
Coppel Robert  
Edelstein David  
Dooley Rachel  
Enriquez Teresa  
Horowitz Phil  
Jones Arthur  
Kritzer Glenn H.
Lala Preeti  
Lewin Jordan  
Louis Marshall Dore
Matters Michael  
Maxwell Amanda  
Moss Tony  
Padilla Joaquin  
Peterson Kellie  
Schwartz Warren  
Trevilla Arnold  
Vizcaino Carmen  
Hwahid Khurrum  

Statewide Chapter Representatives

Last Name First Name Middle Name
Beaton Jr. Marcos  
Llorente Betty  
Puglisi Sabrina  
Sands Leonard A.
Swartz Kenneth M.

Federal and State Public Defender and Regional Conflict

Last Name First Name Middle Name
Caruso Michael  
Martinez Carlos  
Zenobi Eugene  

Young Lawyer Directors

Last Name First Name Middle Name
Kirlew Brian  
Randall Samuel  
Rasmussen Damian  
Ruiz Karen  
Zinn Warren  

Life Members

Last Name First Name Middle Name
Catalano Michael A.
Coulombe Jr. Robert  
De La Cabada Ramon  
Dray S. Patrick
Eiglarsh Mark R.
Fingerhut H. Scott
Freedman Rick  
Georgi Edith  
Haber Michael A.
Hassett Kenneth P.
Hersch Richard  
Joffe David  
Krieger Albert J.
Kuehne Benedict P.
Llorente Beatriz A.
Markus David O.
Moss Tony  
Petruzzi Paul  
Scherker Elliot H.
Sharpstein Janice Burton
Sharpstein Richard A.
Tannebaum Brian L.
Weiner Jeffrey S.
Zenobi Eugene  

Past Presidents/Directors Emeritus

Year Name
1963 Harry W. Prebish (dec.)
1964 Philip Carlton
1965 Philip Carlton
1966 Mitchell M. Goldman
1967 Arthur B. Stark (dec.)
1968 Arthur B. Stark (dec.)
1969 Robert L. Koeppel

Walter Gwynn (dec.)

1973 Marco B. Loffredo(dec.)
1974 Marco B. Loffredo(dec.)
1975 Sky E. Smith
1976 Thomas J. Morgan, Sr.
1977 James G. Gilmour
1978 Alan E. Weinstein

Honorable Ronald C. Dresnick

1980 Stephen J. Bronis
1981 Jeffrey S. Weiner
1982 Honorble Stanford Blake

Neal R. Sonnett

1985 Richard A. Sharpstein
1986 Richard A. Sharpstein
1987 Edward R. Shohat
1988 Honorable Theodore Klein (dec.)
1989 Jose M. Quinon
1990 Benedict P. Kuehne
1991 Honorable Milton Hirsch
1992 William Aaron
1993 David B. Rothman
1994 Honorable Robert N. Scola, Jr.
1995 Steven M. Potolsky
1996 Honorable Richard L. Hersch
1997 Pamela I. Perry
1998 Kenneth M. Swartz
1999 Jeffrey E. Feiler
2000 Gregory A. Prebish
2001 Leonard A. Sands
2002 Paul M. Rashkind
2003 Kenneth P. Hassett
2004 H. Scott Fingerhut
2005 Brian L. Tannebaum
2006 David O. Markus
2007 Barry M. Wax
2008 Rick Freedman
2009 Hector L. Flores
2010 Sabrina Puglisi
2011 Beatriz A. "Betty" Llorente

Upcoming Event

Board of Directors Meeting


April 17th, 2013 at 5:45pm

150 W. Flagler Street, Ste 1500

Upcoming Events

No events

2012 Installation Awards

  • Photo Title 1
  • Photo Title 2
  • Photo Title 3
  • Photo Title 4
  • Photo Title 5

50th Anniversary Gala

A special thanks to the following companies that generously donated to our first annual appeal.     Bailbonds.com     Beatriz A. Llorente, P.A.      Benedict P. Kuehne, P.A.      Black, Srebnick, Komspan & Stumpf, P.A.      Brian L. Tannebaum      Broad & Cassel      Carlton Fields      First Round Management      Graphic Umbrella Company, Inc.      Hersch & Talisman, P.A.      Orshan & Fajardo, P.A.      Robert N. Pelier, P.A.      Sabadell United Bank      Transitions Recovery